Long light proceedure

This is a discussion page set up for CFDA Certified Range Officers and those interested in attending or setting up a CFDA Range Officer Course.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hankerin Hank
Seasoned
Posts: 24
Joined: April 24th, 2013, 9:49 pm
Sanctioned Club: Old Pueblo Gunfighte
Location: Marana, AZ
Contact:

Long light proceedure

Post by Hankerin Hank » May 15th, 2017, 2:54 pm

Howdy all,
Just looking for a bit of clarification on long lights.

Rule:
If the start signal is clearly illuminated beyond the two to five second start sequence, according to the Range Master’s final decision, the following shall apply; Competitors who have not fired a shot will be awarded a re-shoot. Competitors who have fired a shot will be given a choice to keep their hit or be awarded a re-shoot according to the re-shoot procedure.

Let's say after 7 or 8 seconds everyone relaxes believing the light is never coming on. It illuminates and one shooter reacts to it but misses the target. according to the rule, competitors who have fired a shot will be given a choice to keep their "HIT". Can they also re-shoot if they miss? I would think they could but just want to see how others interpret this.

Thanks,
Hankerin' Hank

Old Pueblo Gunfighters, Tucson AZ
http://www.OldPuebloGunfighters.com
CFDA #L2954
NRA Life Member #7777459
Lefty say when
Tenderfoot
Posts: 4
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 10:02 am
Sanctioned Club: Ntsg

Re: Long light proceedure

Post by Lefty say when » January 1st, 2018, 10:08 am

Didn't see it. Wanted to know if an answer was given for this. Thank you
Post Reply

Return to “CFDA Range Officer Forum”